Department of Education
Federal agency · 24 grants in this directory · 5 currently open
The Department of Education is a United States federal agency that administers grants supporting education research, workforce training, and educational services. It funds research and training programs in education sciences, special education, literacy, academic interventions, and related areas, as well as comprehensive centers and neighborhood-based initiatives. Educational institutions, research organizations, nonprofits, community service providers, and tribal governments apply for these grants.
Open grants (5)
- Institute of Education Sciences (IES): National Center for Special Education Research (NCSER): Research Training Programs in Special Education, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.324BFunding amount not specified · Closes October 1, 2026
- Institute of Education Sciences (IES): National Center for Education Research (NCER): Using Longitudinal Data to Support State Education Policymaking, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.305SUp to $1.2M · Closes October 1, 2026
- Institute of Education Sciences (IES): National Center for Special Education Research (NCSER): Using Longitudinal Data to Support State Education Policymaking in Special Education, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.324SUp to $1.2M · Closes October 1, 2026
- Institute of Education Sciences (IES): National Center for Education Research (NCER): Research Training Programs in The Education Sciences, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.305BFunding amount not specified · Closes October 1, 2026
- Institute of Education Sciences (IES): National Center for Education Research (NCER): Statistical and Research Methodology in Education, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.305DFunding amount not specified · Closes October 1, 2026
Closed grants (19)
These are no longer accepting applications. They stay listed because past opportunities show what this funder supports.
- Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA): Parent Information and Training Program ALN 84.235FUp to $300K · Closed April 24, 2026
- Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA): Training of Interpreters for Individuals Who Are Deaf or Hard of Hearing and Individuals Who Are DeafBlind; Assistance Listing Number 84.160DUp to $450K · Closed May 26, 2026
- Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP): Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs), Assistance Listing Number 84.328CFunding amount not specified · Closed June 5, 2026
- Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) Grant Program; Assistance Listing Number 84.415AFunding amount not specified · Closed June 11, 2026
- Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP): State Personnel Development Grants (SPDG) Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.323AFunding amount not specified · Closed June 16, 2026
- Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Well-Rounded Education Programs: Jacob K. Javits Gifted and Talented Students Education (Javits) Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.206AFunding amount not specified · Closed June 23, 2026
- Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP): National Center for Accessible Education Videos; Assistance Listing Number: 84.327NFunding amount not specified · Closed June 26, 2026
- Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP): Accessible Education Video Projects; Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.327CUp to $1M · Closed June 26, 2026
- Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Program and Grantee Support Services: Comprehensive Centers Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.283BFunding amount not specified · Closed June 30, 2026
- Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Comprehensive Centers Program: National Comprehensive Center on Improving Literacy for Students with Disabilities; ALN 84.283DUp to $1.5M · Closed June 30, 2026
- OSERS-OSEP: Personnel Preparation of Special Education, Early Intervention, and Related Services Personnel, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.325KUp to $350K · Closed July 2, 2026
- Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Centers Aligned with Areas for National Need (CAANN) Program Assistance Listing Number: 84.015CFunding amount not specified · Closed July 7, 2026
- Ready to Learn Programming$0 · Closed July 8, 2026
- OSERS-OSEP: Expanding Career Pathways and Workforce Readiness of Special Education Teachers and Early Intervention Personnel Through Registered Apprenticeships, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.325JUp to $1M · Closed July 13, 2026
- Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE):Mutual Educational and Cultural Exchange (MECE) Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.021CFunding amount not specified · Closed July 15, 2026
- OSERS-OSEP: National Assessment Center, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.326GUp to $1M · Closed July 20, 2026
- OSERS-OSEP: National Technical Assistance Center for Postsecondary Education and Training for Individuals who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing, Assistance Listing Number 84.326DUp to $4M · Closed July 30, 2026
- Promise Neighborhoods$0 · Closed August 6, 2026
- OSERS-OSEP: National Center on Academic Interventions Assistance Listing Number (ALN): 84.326QUp to $3.7M · Closed August 10, 2026
GrantRegister provides information, not advice. Eligibility requirements and deadlines are set by the funder and can change without notice. Confirm eligibility, deadlines, and requirements with Department of Education before applying.
